top of page
  • jackiezhang3

Interactive Project Report

Updated: Jun 11, 2022

  1. Audience/Purpose: describe the intended audience of your project; what are you trying to communicate to this audience? The intended audience for my project is college and young professional women. I am trying to communicate to this audience the importance of setting themselves up for success through small actions they can take in their mornings. This particular age group tend to have difficulty establishing healthy morning habits, but it is essential that they learn to develop a morning routine that serves their lifestyle. For the purposes of my project, I formatted the timeline after a typical day in my own life as a college student. However, in order to make the content relatable for professional women as well, I opted for general morning tasks that anyone could envision for their own life. For example, while I would not normally set aside time in the morning to reply emails as a working professional would, I find that time blocking is a helpful strategy in the morning in order to tackle last minute miscellaneous tasks that arise. In my personal life, the time I showcased in the timeline for 'emails' would be used for journaling or reading.

  2. Image(s): how do features of the project effectively convey the message to your audience? The images for this project was the most time confusing aspect because I wanted to find images that worked well together to curate a healthy, organized and driven aesthetic. I drew most of my images from Unsplash by using a variety of key words during the search process. Ultimately, I do think that the theme is consistent amongst the images and they convey the message of what a day of success can look like. In addition to the images, the Timeline effect by Knightlabs made the interactiveness of the project extremely engaging. By setting the time stamps on the morning through the timeline feature, I was able to communicate the essence of staying on task and optimizing your morning time in order to fully reap the rewards. The timeline effect also allowed me to showcase the minimal effort and commitment it can take to make a very impactful action. For example, the first slide of my project showcases that deciding to wake up in the morning does not have to take 10 minutes of snoozing, but rather can be a minute-decision.

  3. Process: what did you do to create the this project? In order to create the Timeline, I had to familiarize myself with the Google Spreadsheet and how it correlates to the actual Timeline. I first created all the time stamps I wanted to be emphasized in my project by listing the specific times in the Google Spreadsheet. After I determined which time slots of the day I wanted to focus on, I then started building the narrative I wanted to communicate to my audience. By indicating small choices that we all make in a day, I wanted to show the various ways that even mundane actions can impact your life. To exemplify this, I first scripted the unmotivated narratives that I face each day at pain points in my life such as getting out of bed in the morning. Next, following each unmotivated narrative, I added one small action that a motivated person would take. By placing the latter just one minute after the original thought, I was able to juxtapose the two different actions to equate to the different lifestyles that each path would lead to. Ultimately, my project consisted of numerous small actions and decisions that were curated to inspire others to re-assess their lifestyles.

  4. Learning: what did you learn from working on this project?

From this project, I learned to be more accepting of myself when I have unproductive mornings. Through making this timeline of a productive morning, I was able to realize the discipline and planning needed to execute such precisely organized and efficient mornings. The reality is that although I strive to live every morning with a motivating and inspirational mindset, sometimes life does not go according to plan. By writing out the entire morning in terms of tasks and time assigned, I learned to accept the disparity in consistency that may occur. While living a productive lifestyle is being heavily promoted and glamorized on social media as a recent trend, it is important to remind ourselves that any lifestyle should incorporate balance. Some mornings you may find getting up at 7am and jump-starting your day effective, but other mornings you need to listen to your body and give it grace.



DON'T MISS THE FUN.

Thanks for submitting!

FOLLOW ME ELSEWHERE

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

SHOP MY LOOK

POST ARCHIVE

bottom of page